Blog Challenge #8: If you couldn’t play your main anymore, what class would you be?

Challenge Topic #8 is “If you couldn’t play your main anymore, what class would you be?”

Well if you read all of my response to topic #7, or know my history with Legion, you’ll probably get that this is an easy one for me. My current main is my elemental shaman, but if I couldn’t play that anymore, I’d just revert to my mage that’s almost equal in item level and artifact power. I mean, I already did it earlier in the expansion when Elemental’s damage was really bad, might take a little bit more work to catch him up again, but nothing challenging. Easy peasy, right?

What? It’s not cheating!

Okay, okay, I get it. That’s kind of cheating for the nature of this challenge, so let’s make it a rule that I can’t play the Shaman OR the Mage for the nature of this challenge. So what would I do instead?

Before Legion came out, I actually made a list of all of the things that were important to me in a main choice and ranked every character I had for each of those factors, and then did an average of all of the rankings to determine that character’s total score for me. I no longer have the full list, but items on the list included a compelling ranged DPS spec, solo survivability and utility, uniqueness within my raid team, number of collected transmog outfits, and others.

Obviously, the Shaman came out on top, with the Mage in second (he lost a bit in the solo survivability department as well as uniqueness among the raid team). My Shadow priest and Warlock were tied at third, with the Hunter last. No one else was really considered, as having a ranged spec was kind of a prerequisite for me. I don’t enjoy healing, I’ve tried melee DPS and it doesn’t really work for me in a raid setting, and I don’t have enough experience tanking to want to try to main it.

Having actually played more in Legion, I suspect that if I were to redo these rankings, the score might look a bit different. There’s obviously been a lot of movement in the raid team, with people having had to step away or ended up changing mains themselves, so uniqueness would be a different value across the board, though I still wouldn’t have any truly unique options.

wowscrnshot_022117_230236
Not pictured: his fifty bajillion other minions

I’m pretty sure the answer would come out to be Warlock. No idea what spec (I’m currently leveling as Demonology and enjoying it, but I haven’t given Affliction a fair shake yet) but I think he’s who I would have the greatest enjoyment playing in our raid team setting.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Cinder says:

    I love that you had a spreadsheet for this previously. 😊
    Warlock is a good choice, especially if you’re focused on being ranged. You’ve got 3 range specs to choose from, and you’ve got loads of utility. I like it! (But shamans ftw 😉)

    Like

    1. thebmatt says:

      I actually gave preference in my original spreadsheet to classes that only had 1 ranged spec, because I was tired of feeling forced to play as the “current best simming spec” as a mage….I really dislike Arcane!

      Like

  2. Zeirah says:

    I just finished my levelling my demon hunter and next up is my warlock, they seem really fun to play 🙂 She’s destruction at the moment but I’ll eventually get all the weapons for her and play around with specs.

    Like

    1. thebmatt says:

      I’ve been enjoying leveling mine for my youtube channel. I initially really didn’t like Demonology but the more I play it….the more fun it is!

      Like

      1. Zeirah says:

        I saw your link for your youtube channel, I’ll go have a look 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

