Blog Challenge #22: Your WoW Soundtrack

on

For this challenge, Z and Cinder, by way of fellow contributor Kamalia, want to know…..about things in WoW that make you think of other music? Specifically not music from the game itself?

Huh.

Sorry, maybe it’s just me, but I don’t get this challenge at all. Any good memories or screenshots I could share would only bring back the in-game music to go with it, because nine times out of ten, I don’t listen to anything BUT the in-game music. MAYBE if I’m just doing routine things like WQs or the like, I’ll have a podcast going on my phone, but anytime I’m doing anything that’s vaguely new or different, I won’t listen to anything but the amazing music from the game.

I know there are people out there who turn all the game’s sound off and listen to different music when they play. Or there’s folks who have a DJ bot going in whatever voice chat they use to share music with their teams. I cannot do the former unless it’s something routine like I mentioned earlier, and I will mute the latter, every time.

WoWScrnShot_072117_224008

I suppose the closest thing I could come up with to even remotely fit this challenge is the fact that I have an addon that plays a brief snippet of “Time Warp” from Rocky Horror Picture Show every time I cast the mage spell of the same name. That same addon will also play the theme from “The A-Team” whenever I cast Mirror Image. Ordinarily, I would disable that kind of thing, but for whatever reason I haven’t done so, and I think at this point I’ve gotten myself used to it, so much so that I’d feel weird NOT having it.

I know this is probably a letdown from the intent of the challenge, but to me, the music and the game are tied together, and my brain doesn’t really associate other music with moments in the game itself.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Alunaria says:

    As far as I know, the “rules” around these challenges are fairly “bendy”, so I cant imagine it’s a letdown 🙂 We all play the game in different ways. I too, play with the in game music on, especially to immerse myself better – but I do have a few music tunes that remind me of certain raid instances/encounters/eraas; not because they have anything similar about them, but because it was music I listened to during that specific era of the game.

    What a nice screenshot – where is that from? With the jukebox? Is it just the Horde Garrison? I always played alliance..It looks gorgeous there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thebmatt says:

      Indeed that is the jukebox in the Horde garrison.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cinder says:

    hehe there really aren’t any rules at all! Every topic is open to interpretation. In this instance, the topic was tough because you only like the actual WoW soundtrack, and that’s totally fine. 🙂 Thanks for taking part, even though it was super tricky for you this time around!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thebmatt says:

      Just for the record that’s not the only MUSIC I like, it’s just the only one I have WoW memories attached to, heh.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

