Glamour Showcase – Dahkar Darkspear (redux)

As I mentioned back in February, I’ve finally re-made Dahkar and been re-leveling him while waiting for Dawntrail. Currently we’re at the start of the Stormblood expansion, and while we do still have a ways to go, I wanted to do a post showing which of Dahkar’s old glams I have managed to re-create and some of the new ones I’ve built for him.

We last looked at Dahkar’s glams back in June of 2020, here’s the links to Part 1 and Part 2 for you to reference. As you might notice, we’ve made a lot of changes to Dahkar’s canonical jobs, and so he will no longer have some of the ones listed in those posts.

Dragoon

As you might have seen in Part 2 of the original posts, I’m very fond of class-specific armor for Dragoon on Dahkar. Right now he hasn’t quite made it to the level 70+ armors, so we’re still making use of the level 60 armor and weapon primarily.

However, I’ve also recently gotten a hold of the armor set rewarded by the crossover with Final Fantasy 16, and I really like how it looks on him. I’ve created a few glamour plates for his various jobs which utilize this set along with a matching weapon. This particular weapon is the best one I have access to at the moment, but there are some level 70 crafted ones I intend to replace it with.

Dark Knight

As mentioned, I haven’t gotten beyond the early Stormblood MSQ on Dahkar, so a lot of my original glams aren’t yet something I have access to, aside from the level 60 AF set. I don’t quite have the AF Weapon for that set, as one of my longer term goals is to work on the Dark Knight relic weapon quest from Heavensward on him, but for now I’ve paired a new weapon with it: the Lynxliege Faussar from the PVP vendors.

Since my last post from him, we’ve had the introduction of a completely new PVP system, and a new currency and rewards to go with it. One of those rewards is the Virtu sets, upscaled and differently colored versions of various AF sets. I managed to get ahold of the Dark Knight one so that I might have the Chaos set a bit earlier than level 60. Since hitting that milestone, however, I’ve paired it with a weapon that I feel pairs with it very nicely in terms of color AND theme: the Seeing Horde Guillotine

And of course, since it’s my newest appearance set, I have a Dark Knight-specific version of the FF16 set as well. This makes use of the simple Longstop Greatsword, and it’s a very nice “incognito/traveling” look, as compared to the above sets.

I do still want to re-create a lot of the other glams I had for Dark Knight in my original post, but they’ll have to wait until we’re a bit higher in level and further along in the MSQ

White Mage

Dahkar’s last (for now) canon job had two real glamour sets I’d used on him. One was the Lost Allagan healing set, which doesn’t really fit his personality anymore now that I’ve expanded his actual backstory and personal goals. The other was the Bloodhempen Healing set, inspired by the models used on various Xaela NPCs in the Azim Steppe. It felt right for Dahkar to wear it, as it exemplified his culture that he’d been reconnecting with. And while I haven’t quite gotten to the Azim Steppe storyline yet, Dahkar does have White Mage up to level 60, so I was able to pick this set back up for him.

I intend to pair it one day with the level 80 relic weapon, as described in this entry from FFXIV Write 2021, but for now he’s using the weapon of the same item level.

I have yet to find a set that feels more iconic for Dahkar to use with White Mage, but a lot has been added since I wrote the original post, so perhaps there is something I’d not had access to before. If so, expect a new entry in this series

The Others?

Those three jobs are all that Dahkar currently has in my canon, but as you’re all aware, I am something of a completionist when it comes to doing the role quests on all of my characters for both Shadowbringers and Endwalker, and thus Dahkar has need of a current casting and aiming job. Since they are the highest-starting-level of their respective roles, I’ve picked up Red Mage and Dancer on him. And while I’ve not really done much in the way of Dancer yet, I do intend to pick up the brightlinen aiming set to use for it. For Red Mage, I’m using the same item level set for casters, the Bloodhempen Casting set. It makes use of the same model as its healer equivalent, while being red. It’s not canon, but it’s perfect enough for our boy

Leave a comment