Glamour Showcase – Old Man Franks (redux)

It’s been a few years since we took at look at the Old Man’s glamours, so i figured it was a good time to take a look at what he’s been wearing since then!

In the original posts, we covered many jobs, several of which are no longer canon to him, although I’ve still leveled them to 90 for completion’s sake. In this post, we’re going to stick to his 5 canonical jobs. Let’s get started!

Machinist

I could do an entire post on machinist glam ideas alone, and maybe one day I will. But for the same of this post, I’m going to stick with the two that are most iconic to him.

This first one is more of an iconic machinist look, keeping the goggles, the fancy coat, the western-inspired boots, and a more typical sort of weapon. I have version of it that use other guns, but this is the one I most commonly wield with it. You can see the details on Eorzea Collection.

Then there’s this lovely powered armor ensemble. I have it up on Eorzea Collection under the name of “Allagan Commando” but I need to post an updated version using some of the screenshots below. As you can see, I’ve added the visor from the Vanu Vanu tribe quests, and replaced the weapon with the last stage Manderville relic. If you know my aesthetic in RPG’s you probably aren’t in any way surprised that the last stage of the Manderville weapons are among, if not at the top of, my list of favorite weapons in the game. This is the look I plan to do the Dawntrail MSQ as.

Summoner

Since our last post, I’ve come up with a pair of super great summoner looks that I think better capture how OMF treats the job. Sorry, fans of the horn, but there will be none found here.

First up is this incredible green glam built around the Bozjan casting coat, which I immediately fell in love with due to the giant wrench strapped to its back. You can see the full setup here. Still keeps the iconic color of the class set, but with a better magitek theme appropriate for OMF

But this is probably my favorite look I’ve ever made for summoner, an set that is primarily ink blue built around the Snow Linen casting jacket. I love the way all of the items dye to match it, and the giant collar giving it Auron vibes. Check out the details here. As with my previous current machinist set, the link is a little outdated, as itincludes the Ironworks summoner weapon. The below pictures are more current make use of the Mandervillious grimoire. Don’t worry, they don’t ALL just use that weapon…mostly because I’ve been leveling Dahkar too much to concentrate on getting the tomes necessary for some of my other jobs.

Reaper

If you’ve paid attention to some of my writing here, you know that Reaper is a job that the Old Man reluctantly picked up. Below is a glamour plate I have personally not added, though it can be found from other creators on Eorzea collection. It is the full maiming set from the Ktisis Hyperboreia dungeon in Endwalker, while the weapon comes from the Holminster Switch dungeon in Shadowbringers. In my personal headcanon, this was Franks’ armor he wore after becoming a reaper for the remainder of the Endwalker MSQ after the “In from the Cold” questline. If you wonder if his friends were very worried for his state of mind for much of that time…you would be correct.

After the conclusion of Endwalker’s main story, when the group had their cathartic final battle against Zenos, and Franks revealed his big personal revelation (go here to read that), Aleister put away the above scary armor and created something very much more to his taste. As his wife put it, she was happy that he looked like himself again. The details of the outfit are here.

Paladin

Though he did make use of the level 80 artifact set during the group’s final confrontation with Zenos, the whole shining knight aesthetic was never truly to Aleister’s taste. His first real armor that he made use of is the below mixture of the Edenmorn fending coat, the shaded spectacles, and the remaining items filled out with the Late Allagan Fending set. The Blood Sword was his weapon of choice, a crystal he shaped himself into a blade (at least in my headcanon), anyway. It’s this outfit that he’s depicted as wearing during my What Measure is A Paladin stories (Part 1, Part 2), so it’ll always be a glam I keep handy. Eorzea Collection link is here.

However, we have made some updates to it. The Mandervillious relic, the Late Allagan coat replacing the Edenmore coat, and of course the Vanu Vanu Visor to complete the magitek Paladin look. I’m hoping the Late Allagan items will be one of the first items to take advantage of the 2-dye channel system in Dawntrail, as there are plenty of red elements in these pieces I would like to recolor, but for now, I think it works well enough.

Scholar

So oddly enough, this is probably the one outfit that I haven’t actually updated pretty much at all since the original post back in 2020. I think the only update I’ve actually made is to the weapon. I got my hands on the Omega Codex, from the Savage versions of the Omega raids, and now make use of that for Scholar.

And there you have it, all of my updated glamours for Oldman Franks. I’m personally excited to see what we get out of Dawntrail, but…will also be mostly excited when all of the Manderville relic steps start costing Poetics, because I’m going to get them for every job I can. Until next time!

Leave a comment